Magic Ruling: Load Those Cannons!

October 26, 2017

Your opponent has 4 life remaining and three 1/1 Servo tokens in play.

You have 1 life remaining, an untapped Elaborate Firecannon, 8 Mountains in play, and a Mountain in your hand.

Your turn is beginning now.

Is there a way for you to fire the Firecannon twice and win this game?

The answer? Yes, there is a way. Here’s how it goes.

  1. Your turn begins, then at the beginning of your upkeep, the Firecannon’s ability triggers and is added to the stack:
    “At the beginning of your upkeep, you may discard a card. If you do, untap Elaborate Firecannon.”
    This occurs regardless of whether your Firecannon is currently tapped or untapped.
  2. While that triggered effect is on the stack, you tap four Mountains to pay for the cannon’s activated ability, adding it to the top of the stack:
    “4, T: Elaborate Firecannon deals 2 damage to target creature or player.”
  3. Your opponent has no responses to add to the stack, so your damage ability resolves and deals 2 damage to your opponent.
  4. The next effect on the stack resolves. You choose to discard your Mountain, which allows your to untap Elaborate Firecannon.
  5. The stack is empty. You tap your remaining four Mountains to pay for the cannon’s activated ability once again.
  6. The damage ability resolves once more, reducing your opponent to 0 life remaining.

FIRE CANNONS!

Missed the previous ruling? Find it here!

Andy B

Andy B is our Master of Events and Online Wizardry, and that's why you see his picture at the bottom of most posts and events! You'll see him and his beard at all our locations, often with his nose at a computer, creating pages just like this one. His favorite games include The Grizzled, Guild Ball, Harry Potter Hogwarts Battle and Legend of the Five Rings.

Share!
Enjoy the article so far? Recommend it to your friends and peers.