Magic Ruling: Twice the Life, Twice as Nice?

December 1, 2017

This week’s ruling is simple, but worth knowing:

You control Archangel of Thune and Bishop’s Soldier.

You attack with both, and your opponent declares no blockers. Both the Archangel and the Soldier deal combat damage, meaning their lifelink abilities both gain you life simultaneously.

How many times does the Archangel’s ability trigger, and how many +1/+1 counters will each of your creatures receive?


The answer is: 2 triggers, and therefore 2 counters each.

Let’s take a quick look what Lifelink means, and at the rulings for Life, specifically:

Lifelink Keyword Ability Definition: “Damage dealt by this creature also causes you to gain that much life.”

“118.9. Some triggered abilities are written, “Whenever [a player] gains life, . . . .” Such abilities are treated as though they are written, “Whenever a source causes [a player] to gain life, . . . .” If a player gains 0 life, no life gain event has occurred, and these abilities won’t trigger.”

So in this case, we will look at the two creatures’ lifelink abilities as two separate sources of life gain.

This means that each instance of lifelink will trigger the Archangel’s ability, putting a +1/+1 counter on each creature two separate times.


Missed last time’s ruling? Find it here!

Andy B

Andy B is our Master of Events and Online Wizardry, and that's why you see his picture at the bottom of most posts and events! You'll see him and his beard at all our locations, often with his nose at a computer, creating pages just like this one. His favorite games include The Grizzled, Tash Kalar, Guild Ball and Legend of the Five Rings.

Enjoy the article so far? Recommend it to your friends and peers.