Magic Ruling: Squee Meets his Match

June 8, 2018

 

We control a Courser of Kruphix, so the top card of our library is revealed to be Squee, the Immortal.

We also control a Bomat Courier, which we declare as an attacker now, sending Squee into exile face down.

Can we cast Squee from exile, even though the card is facedown?

 

The answer? Nope, not this time Squee buddy.

This is because of one quick rule, but it’s a rule well worth knowing:

  • 406.3. Exiled cards are, by default, kept face up and may be examined by any player at any time. Cards “exiled face down” can’t be examined by any player except when instructions allow it. However, once a player is allowed to look at a card exiled face down, that player may continue to look at that card as long as it remains exiled, even if the instruction allowing the player to do so no longer applies. A card exiled face down has no characteristics, but the spell or ability that exiled it may allow it to be played from exile. Unless that card is being cast face down (see rule 707.4), the card is turned face up just before the player announces that they are playing the card (see rule 601.2).

A card exiled face down has no characteristics

So the moment our revealed Squee was turned face down, he became nothing more than a card. His ability is not in effect, and therefore, he cannot be cast from this particular exile.

Missed last time’s ruling? Find it here!

Andy B

Andy B is our Master of Events and Online Wizardry, and that's why you see his picture at the bottom of most posts and events! You'll see him and his beard at all our locations, often with his nose at a computer, creating pages just like this one. His favorite games include The Grizzled, Tash Kalar, Guild Ball and Legend of the Five Rings.

Share!
Enjoy the article so far? Recommend it to your friends and peers.