Magic Ruling: Pushable Copy?

October 12, 2017

You create a token copy of Longtusk Cub using your Scarab God’s ability: “Exile target creature card from a graveyard. Create a token that’s a copy of it, except it’s a 4/4 black Zombie.”

Your opponent then casts Fatal Push, targeting your Longtusk Cub token copy.

Will the token copy be destroyed?

The answer here is Yes.

And the main question we need to answer is, does the Cub copy have a converted mana cost, and is that converted mana cost the same as the original Cub’s?

Let’s look at one of the rules of copying:
706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics … The “copiable values” are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty)

Because the copy’s mana cost will copy the original Longtusk Cub’s mana cost, it also has the same converted mana cost as the original Cub: Two.

Therefore, Fatal Push will have no trouble in destroying the Cub copy.

Missed last week’s ruling? Find it here!

Andy B

Andy B is our Master of Events and Online Wizardry, and that's why you see his picture at the bottom of most posts and events! You'll see him and his beard at all our locations, often with his nose at a computer, creating pages just like this one. His favorite games include The Grizzled, Tash Kalar, Guild Ball and Legend of the Five Rings.

Share!
Enjoy the article so far? Recommend it to your friends and peers.