New Artwork Featured in Iconic Masters

November 16, 2017

Iconic Masters releases tomorrow – Friday, November 17. When it arrives, we’ll explore many beloved cards from throughout Magic’s history.

Before we start cracking packs during Drafts and sealed events at Bayshore and Greenfield, I’d like to highlight some of …

Read the article

Magic Ruling: Sanctions Lifted

You control Rampaging Ferocidon.

Your opponent casts Angel of Sanctions, targeting your dino with its enter-the-battlefield effect.

In response to the Angel entering the battlefield, you attempt to cast Savage Stomp to give your Ferodicon a +1/+1 counter and have …

Read the article

Magic Ruling: Have I Said Too Much?

November 10, 2017

Let’s talk about Free Information vs. Derived Information, a concept that comes up in Competitive REL Magic events.

As an example, let’s say you’re playing in a Preliminary Pro Tour Qualifier (PPTQ). You control a Cultivator of Blades with two …

Read the article

Magic Ruling: The Power of Wits

November 2, 2017

You control the enchantment Durable Handicraft. You then cast Dawnfeather Eagle. Finally, you cast Champion of Wits from your hand and pay for the Durable Handicraft’s triggered effect to put a +1/+1 counter on the Champion.

How many cards are

Read the article

Magic Ruling: Load Those Cannons!

October 26, 2017

Your opponent has 4 life remaining and three 1/1 Servo tokens in play.

You have 1 life remaining, an untapped Elaborate Firecannon, 8 Mountains in play, and a Mountain in your hand.

Your turn is beginning now.

Is there a

Read the article

Building a Scenario with Barrister Zach

October 18, 2017

Hey everyone, I’m Zach and today I’m going to go over what I think makes a good scenario for miniatures gaming. While deathmatch play is fun, whether you’re holding the line with the Imperial Guard or running the Death Star
Read the article

Magic Ruling: Pushable Copy?

October 12, 2017

You create a token copy of Longtusk Cub using your Scarab God’s ability: “Exile target creature card from a graveyard. Create a token that’s a copy of it, except it’s a 4/4 black Zombie.”

Your opponent then casts Fatal Push, …

Read the article

Magic Ruling: Double the Trample, Double the Pain?

September 27, 2017

You control Angrath’s Marauders and a Charging Monstrosaur, a 5/5 creature with trample. You attack your opponent with the Charging Monstrosaur, and your opponent blocks it with a 3/3 creature.

How much damage can you deal to your opponent with …

Read the article

Magic Ruling: Ballista Breakdown?

You control Tocatli Honor Guard. Your opponent pays four mana to play Walking Ballista with two +1/+1 counters on it.

Does your opponent’s Ballista instead enter with zero +1/+1 counters, sending it to the graveyard?

The answer is No. The

Read the article

Magic Ruling: Exactly How Enraged?

September 22, 2017

You control Sun-Crowned Hunters, a 5/4 Dinosaur with an ability, Enrage – Whenever Sun-Crowned Hunters is dealt damage, it deals 3 damage to target opponent.

You attack with Sun-Crowned Hunters, and your opponent chooses to block with two Otepec Huntmasters …

Read the article